Stuck on 400

Hello, friends…

When I started this blog, I had no idea what I’d do with it. At various times, it has been like a friend, my own media channel, a shingle, a distraction, a guilty pleasure and, above all, a place to give my writing and photography skills a chance to develop.

The post before this one is the 400th I’ve completed since I started up on December 14, 2005. If anyone had told me I would write 400 posts on this thing in a little over a year, I would have said:

a) that was a madly ambitious goal;

b) gee, how many books and screenplays could I have written if I’d put all that writing energy into those things?

Four-hundred posts! And I tend to write long for a blogger. No terse Instapundit-style allusions for me. I quote at length, and then write at more length. Figure my average post is about 500 words, excluding what I copy-paste from others; I’ve scribbled some 200,000 words here in the past 13 1/2 months! That’s a long novel.

I always wanted to write a novel. Hmm.

Part of my new job is to coach other bloggers. My first rule is: Don’t look at mine as a good example! This is where I get to make mistakes so you won’t make them.

Anyway, since writing my 400th post a week ago, I have felt a little writers’ block. Some of the reasons are obvious if you’re following my legal travails. But that’s not all of it. In April and May 2006, I managed to write 36 posts during an immediately after my trial. This post will only be my 11th of January ’07.

It’s not like I don’t enjoy this anymore: I do! I’m quite proud of the work I’ve done this month. Especially this, this, this and this. So maybe I’m settling into a different rhythm now. I don’t have to write a post every time something pops into my head. I’ll let them cook for a few days, even a week.

Just so you know I haven’t been utterly neglecting this blog, here are some of the things I’ve considered posting about in the past week:

  • The music and legacy of Phil Spector
  • The State of the Union address, James Webb’s response, and the politics of the “surge”
  • Hurray, We’re Capitulating!” — an excerpt from a book about European appeasement of Muslim extremism
  • Hillary, Obama, Vilsack and Brownbeck — heirs to CSNY?
  • Ahmet Ertegun, R.I.P.
  • More pictures from my trip to New Orleans
  • The fact that every team I was rooting for in the NFL playoffs lost, but I’m still happy because the New England Patriots didn’t make the Super Bowl
  • Why I liked “Dreamgirls” even though most of the song are bad
  • The woman who died after drinking too much water on a morning whacko radio show
  • The woman who died when her jealous friend sabotaged her parachute

…and that’s just for starters. I might do some, none or all of these, eventually. I’m also reading four books now. If I ever finish one of them, I’ll probably post about it. The top candidate? Suite Francaise, by Irene Nemirovsky — the first two parts of a five-novel cycle the writer planned to write about the German occupation of Paris, until her plans were interrupted by her arrest by the Nazis and death in a concentration camp. That’s a poignant story in itself, but the book itself is also breathtakingly great, a novel for all time.

For now, all I want to do is thank everyone who reads this blog for reading it, apologize if my productivity has flagged this month, and promise more exciting reading ahead!

(There…with post #401 behind me, maybe I can relax…)

One thought on “Stuck on 400

Leave a Reply

