iDon’t Get It, part deux

From Boing-Boing, more news of iPod rebellion:

Tomorrow, activists in seven cities across the US will picket Apple Stores, handing out information about the dangers of the DRM (Digital Rights Management) hidden in Apple's iTunes. iTunes DRM may seem pretty innocuous at first, but every time you invest in an iTunes Store song, you make it more expensive to switch to an Apple competitor's product at any time in the future. You didn't have to abandon your CDs to switch to MP3s (in fact, the more CDs you owned, the better your MP3 experience was, since you could rip those CDs to seed your MP3 collection), but if you want to go from Apple's iTunes to a competing device, ever, you have to be prepared to abandon your whole investment.

Yes!

My wife has an iPod.  I don't.  If I buy a song on Rhapsody for my mp3 player, I can convert it to a iPod friendly format so she can put it on her iPod.  BUT: If she buys a song on Apple's iMusic, she can't convert it to another format so I can put it on my device.

I've already written about the advantages of being a non-iPod mp3 owner: That I can stream on my computer, or download onto my device, music from subscription services like Rhapsody, so long as I pay my monthly fee.  iMusic does not allow this. You can listen to a 30-second clip, that's it. Anything more you have to pay for. And, as this protest shows, you're paying for less than what you think. 

It's an interesting premise for a consumer-based protest activity.  Basically, the marching cry is:  "You're not all that!"  In fact, the Free Software Foundation calls its anti-iPod group "Defective By Design." But given Apple's arrogant, anti-consumer attitude about their highly profitable product, they deserve the fuss. 

Here's the protest sked.  I don't think my wife, who still likes her iPod, will be joining, and of course I don't need to.  But you might want to gather at 10 a.m. local time tomorrow, June 10th at:

Apple Store – 1 Stockton St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Apple Store – 679 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611

Apple Store – 4702 NE University Village Pl, Seattle, WA 98105

Apple Store – 100 Cambridge Side Place, Cambridge, MA 02141

Apple Store – 767 Fifth Ave., New York, NY 10153

Apple Store – 160 Walt Whitman Rd. Huntington Station, NY 11746h

Apple Store – 6121 West Park Blvd. Plano, TX 75093

One thought on “iDon’t Get It, part deux

Leave a Reply

